Social networking the new social ‘life’???

August 1, 2011

In todays society as a teenager I can name at least 5 diffrent social networking sites off the top of my head and I am more than certain there will be more out there if we look hard enough.

So what has made social networking so popular and why do we feel so compelled to use these sites?

Well to be honest I don’t have a clue!!
All I know is that they are taking over the internet!!

Now i’m not saying this is a bad thing, I know I have a Facebook which I use daily and a Twitter which gets used maybe twice a year. But there has to be a limit on these sites right?

I know a few people with atleast 3 different social networking accounts now I don’t want to have to go to each individual site to read the exact same thing.
Because to be perfectly frank I think I have better things to do with my time!

I don’t feel the need to post a picture of my lunch on the internet or maybe update my status to tell the world that I have decided to paint my toenails, these are things that bore me sensless!!

I have a facebook to do 3 things:

1) Organize stuff with my friends
2) Check homework with my class mates
3) Talk to people i’m to shy to talk to in person

Yes I will ‘Like’ someones status or share a picture of my latest holiday but I don’t go round posting depressing quotes/ Song lyrics or saying mean things to people online.

I have a rule
‘If you wouldn’t say it in person why would you post it on the internet?’

This leads me to my next question.

Is Social Networking turning us into a bunch of anti-socials?

In my honest opinion I think it is.
The 3-4 hours a night a teenager probably uses on the internet could quite easily be converted into time well spent hanging at the park or down at the local shopping center.

These sites are taking away the need to go out and see out friends, and fair enough why go out and spend money when you could just as easily go online and chat to them for a few hours?

My answer to this is simple.
In a world where more people are afraid of public speaking than dying I think that it’s a serious concern for our future.
I mean yes public speaking is scary but I would much rather do that than DIE!!

I think social network sites have to accept some of the responsibilty for this fact.
If people are to afriad to talk to their ‘friends’ in person than of course they aren’t going to be comfortable with talking to a group of strangers.

ADVICE: If you are ever put up to do some public speaking remind yourself that all those people are there to see you and of you make a mistake don’t panic those people will understand and won’t laugh.

To wrap this up i’m going to leave you with one last question to think about.
How much time do you spend on the internet?
How much of that time could be used studying or hanging with mates?

Leave a Reply

